The “ERICH SALING PERINATAL PRIZE” was created by the World Association of Perinatal Medicine in 1999 and the prize is awarded at each World Congress to scientists who are currently among the best in the field of Perinatal Medicine.

Erich Saling Awardees

World  Association of Perinatal Medicine decided to introduce a prize to be given biennially at the Opening Ceremony of the World Congresses to the best scientist in Perinatal Medicine.
Following criteria will be evaluated:
1. The number of original scientific papers published to peer Review Journals during the last 10 years.
2. The number of citation extracted from scientific citation index in a period of 10 years.
3. Significant contribution to the development of Perinatal Medicine worldwide.

ERICH SALING DIPLOMA will be given at the same occasion to the person who apart from his/her scientific production made internationally recognised contribution to overall development Perinatal Medicine.

The Evaluation Committee consists of the previous winners chaired by the WAPM President. Nominations should be made 4 months before the upcoming congress WCPM.

ERICH SALING PERINATAL PRIZE Diploma will be given by the President of WAPM

Past Erich Saling Awardees

The Past Awardees of the Erich Saling Perinatal Prize


2019Prof.Reuven AchironTel Aviv, Israel
 Prof. Apostolos PapgeorghiouMontreal, Canada
2017Prof. Eberhard MerzFrankfurt, Germnay
 Prof. Ola Didrik SaugstadOslo, Norway
2015Prof. Luis Cabero RouraBarcelona, Spain
 Prof.Xavier Carbonelll EstranyBarcelona, Spian
2013Prof. Aris AntsaklisAthens, Greece
 Prof. Manuel CarrapatoPorto, Portugal
2011Prof. Asim KurjakZagreb, Croatia
 Prof. Eduardo BancalariMiami, USA
2009Prof. Anne GreenoughLondon, UK
 Prof. Joachim DudenhausenBerlin, Germany
2007Prof. Frank ChervenakNew York, USA
 Prof. José CarreraBarcelona, Spain
2005Prof. Wolfgang HolzgreveBasel, Switzerland
2003Prof. Roberto RomeroDetroit, USA
2001Prof. Kypros NicolaidesLondon, UK


Erich Saling Prize Winners